Bend Chamber Announces 2016 Women of the Year Awards | Bent

Coverage for Central Oregon, by Central Oregonians.
100% Local. No Paywalls.

Every day, the Source publishes a mix of locally reported stories on our website, keeping you up to date on developments in news, food, music and the arts. We’re committed to covering this city where we live, this city that we love, and we hear regularly from readers who appreciate our ability to put breaking news in context.

The Source has been a free publication for its 22 years. It has been free as a print version and continued that way when we began to publish online, on social media and through our newsletters.

But, as most of our readers know, times are different for local journalism. Tech giants are hoovering up small businesses and small-business advertising—which has been the staple for locally owned media. Without these resources, journalism struggles to bring coverage of community news, arts and entertainment that social media cannot deliver.

Please consider becoming a supporter of locally owned journalism through our Source Insider program. Learn more about our program’s benefits by clicking through today.

Support Us Here

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Bend Chamber Announces 2016 Women of the Year Awards

Posted By on Thu, Mar 10, 2016 at 9:32 AM

Submitted by Rachel Rees van den Berg, Bend Chamber
            Lifetime Achievement Award - Sue Hollern

Lifetime Achievement Award winners have shown long-term active engagement in our community and have made significant positive economic impacts locally. This award allows us to recognize true pillars in our community.


      Woman of the Year Award - Moe Carrick
      This award recognizes women who have excelled in their career, field or passion and/or have made a significant achievement in a traditionally male-dominated arena in the past 12 -24 months. Nominees must be at least 18 years of age.


Entrepreneur of the Year Award - Sarah Pool

Through timely innovation, strategic thinking and smart execution, the recipients of the Entrepreneur of the Year Award have launched and built one or more successful companies with a track record of growth, profitability, industry leadership and breaking new ground. Nominees must be 18 years of age.



Community Hero Award - Kim Meeder

This award acknowledges women who are making outstanding contributions to their community. Community Heroes demonstrate how people with passion and determination can use their lives to make a difference in the community.  Nominees must be over 21.

Young Hero Award (Age 18-21) - Hannah Birchem

Through this award, we are celebrating the power of local young ladies’ efforts that spark change and improve the world through passion and determination. Nominees are considered in two age groups: 14-17 and 18-21.

Young Hero Award (Age 14-17) - Madelynn Bowers

Tags: , , , ,

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Newsletter Signup

Get Central Oregon daily news
directly in your inbox

More by Sherron Lumley

Latest in Bent

© 2020 LAY IT OUT INC | 704 NW GEORGIA AVE, BEND, OREGON 97703  |   Privacy Policy

Website powered by Foundation