Congrats to All the Nominees in our Women of the Year Awards! | Local News | Bend | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon
The Source Weekly’s reporting is made possible by the power of your support. Be a part of it!
Pin It

Congrats to All the Nominees in our Women of the Year Awards! 

Five women took home awards. But over 50 women were nominated.

It's been a huge honor participating in the Women of the Year awards, a partnership this year between the Source and the Bend Chamber. What a ride!

After being nominated, each nominee was asked to submit a personal statement and other information about them. They then participated in a "meet and greet" with the panel of judges, hailing from all over the Central Oregon business and academic community. While each of the winners is highlighted in the print edition this week (and online here), we wanted to take a moment to recognize the nominees.

I can say for a fact that not a single one of them didn't belong, or didn't possess the qualities deserving of the award for which they were nominated. So to them, congrats for being you!
click to enlarge Winners and nominees pose for a group photo at the Women of the Year awards ceremony Feb. 28. - NICOLE VULCAN
  • Nicole Vulcan
  • Winners and nominees pose for a group photo at the Women of the Year awards ceremony Feb. 28.

Here are the 2020 nominees:

Young Hero Award

sponsored by Webfoot

Angie Acevedo
AriAnne Griffy
Ella Bakker
Keera Puett
Kiley Hein
Marli von Heideken
Megan Bolt
Shilo Grayson

Community Hero Award

sponsored by Johnson Benefit Planning

Amy Renalds
Andrea Rosenzweig
Evelia Sandoval
Gail Snyder
Katy Ipock
Lauren Olander
Matina Ferlander Christophersen
Megan Karnopp
Megan Martin
Meera Rupp
Ranae Staley
Renee Shadley
Ruth Jones
Sarah Kelley
Stacia Biancucci
Tara Feurtado
Woody Medeiros

Advancing Women Award

sponsored by US Bank

Catherine Cruger
Jennifer Keane
Karina Smith
Luann Abrams

Lifetime Achievement Award

sponsored by Cascade Business News

Amy Yillik
Harriet Langmas
Lawnae Hunter
Sonya Littledeer-Evans

Woman of the Year Award

sponsored by The Wallace Group Inc

Affton Coffelt
Amanda Gow
Bronwen Lodato
Cassie Clemans
Christina Easly
Colleen Thomas
Dr. Janell Payne
Dr. Jessica LeBlanc
Heidi Slaybaugh
Jennifer Welander
Jesse Durham
Jillian Devine
Jillian Taylor
Joanne Mina
Julie Lyche
Karen Brannon
Kristen Riggle
Lindsey Hopper
Melinda Martinez
Rachel Wente-Chaney
ShanRae Hawkins
Tess Ball

Keep on keepin' on, all you awesome people! 

About The Author

Nicole Vulcan

Nicole Vulcan has been editor of the Source since 2016. (Blame her for everything since then.) Favorite car: A Trek commuter bike. Favorite cat: An adopted dog who looks like a Jedi master. Favorite things, besides responding to your comments: Downton Abbey re-runs, Aretha Franklin albums, and pink wine.
Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

  • My Marvelous Mentors

    My Marvelous Mentors

    Jim Anderson pens a farewell to readers
    • Aug 26, 2020
  • Make Masks Cool

    Make Masks Cool

    Bend nurses dole out PPE for fellow workers, after an angel donation falls in their laps
    • Mar 31, 2020

Newsletter Signup

Get Central Oregon daily news
directly in your inbox

Get Social

Latest in Local News

  • Noticias en Español

    • Sep 15, 2021
    ¿Un pequeño aumento en las mascotas devueltas? More »
  • End of an Abstraction

    • Sep 15, 2021
    There's no single view among veterans on the Afghan withdrawal, but they do face unique challenges both during their service and after More »
  • A New Way to Manage Houseless Services?

    • Sep 14, 2021
    After continued growth in the population without homes, Bend city councilors seek to centralize service providers More »
  • More »

More by Nicole Vulcan

Want to advertise with us?

For info on print and digital advertising, >> Click Here

© 2021 LAY IT OUT INC | 704 NW GEORGIA AVE, BEND, OREGON 97703  |   Privacy Policy

Website powered by Foundation