Source Suggests These Books | Book Talk | Bend | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon
Search
Settings
Pin It
Favorite

Source Suggests These Books 

Careful what you wish for

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

This book reminded me again how fun it can be to get lost in another world. In this world, 17-year-old Alice Crewe's Grandmother has written a series of dark fairy tales with a cult following. When she dies and a creature from that world appears to kidnap her mother, it's up to Alice to enter the Hazel Wood and confront her fears, both imagined and all too real.

With whip-smart prose and a cast of characters you'll not soon forget, this is dark YA fantasy turned on its head and it's wonderful.

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

If you were born in 1581, you'd be tired too. Tom Hazard certainly is and he'd like to settle down with a nice girl. That's the most simplistic way of explaining a much deeper story that will keep you turning pages through the centuries of Tom's life and well into your own evenings.

I knew before reading this that the movie is already in production with Benedict Cumberbatch signed on to play Tom—and there couldn't be a more perfect actor to play the part.

Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill

Better known for her 2017 Newberry Award-winning YA novel, "The Girl Who Drank The Moon," Barnhill's latest collection of eight short stories and a novella is very much more for adults. A woman with a Sasquatch for a lover, witches, pirates and a professor who also happens to be an insect populate these poignant and poetic stories. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Kelly Link will be right at home in Barnhill's world of magical realism.

Links for online copy:

Hazel Wood

How to Stop Time:

Dreadful Young Ladies


Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of New Books, bend Oregon Bookshops

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Ski Films in the Garden

Ski Films in the Garden - Bunk+Brew Historic Lucas House

Thu., Oct. 22, 6-10 p.m.
Submitting an event is free and easy.

Newsletter Signup

Get Central Oregon daily news
directly in your inbox

Get Social


Latest in Book Talk

Give Guide


View Online

More by Tom Beans, Dudley's BookShop Cafe

Want to advertise with us?

For info on print and digital advertising, >> Click Here

© 2020 LAY IT OUT INC | 704 NW GEORGIA AVE, BEND, OREGON 97703  |   Privacy Policy

Website powered by Foundation