Source Suggests These Books | Book Talk | Bend | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon
Search
Username
Pin It
Favorite

Source Suggests These Books 

Careful what you wish for

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

This book reminded me again how fun it can be to get lost in another world. In this world, 17-year-old Alice Crewe's Grandmother has written a series of dark fairy tales with a cult following. When she dies and a creature from that world appears to kidnap her mother, it's up to Alice to enter the Hazel Wood and confront her fears, both imagined and all too real.

With whip-smart prose and a cast of characters you'll not soon forget, this is dark YA fantasy turned on its head and it's wonderful.

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

If you were born in 1581, you'd be tired too. Tom Hazard certainly is and he'd like to settle down with a nice girl. That's the most simplistic way of explaining a much deeper story that will keep you turning pages through the centuries of Tom's life and well into your own evenings.

I knew before reading this that the movie is already in production with Benedict Cumberbatch signed on to play Tom—and there couldn't be a more perfect actor to play the part.

Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill

Better known for her 2017 Newberry Award-winning YA novel, "The Girl Who Drank The Moon," Barnhill's latest collection of eight short stories and a novella is very much more for adults. A woman with a Sasquatch for a lover, witches, pirates and a professor who also happens to be an insect populate these poignant and poetic stories. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Kelly Link will be right at home in Barnhill's world of magical realism.

Links for online copy:

Hazel Wood

How to Stop Time:

Dreadful Young Ladies


Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of New Books, bend Oregon Bookshops

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Newsletter Signup

Cascades Reader Logo Cascades Reader

Get your daily dose of news for Central Oregon and beyond, delivered to your inbox five days a week. Powered by the Source Weekly.

Latest in Book Talk

  • Source Suggests These Books

    • Oct 30, 2019
    Before you stroll the streets of First Friday, check out these book suggestions, courtesy of Dudley's Bookshop Cafe More »
  • Source Suggests These Books

    • Oct 2, 2019
    Several new books that should be on every reader's radar. More »
  • Source Suggests These Books

    • Sep 11, 2019
    As we ease into fall, check out these suggestions for reading, courtesy of Dudley's Bookshop Cafe. More »
  • More »

More by Tom Beans, Dudley's BookShop Cafe

  • A Personal Top 10 Reading List

    A Personal Top 10 Reading List

    The books worth reading from 2019
    • Dec 24, 2019
  • Shop Small Matters

    Shop Small Matters

    From hiking the PCT as a spiritual endeavor to living off-grid, these outdoor-loving books make great gifts
    • Nov 27, 2019
  • A Tax on Reading

    A Tax on Reading

    How international tariffs are making a significant impact—even on books
    • Nov 20, 2019
  • More »

© 2020 LAY IT OUT INC | 704 NW GEORGIA AVE, BEND, OREGON 97703  |   Privacy Policy

Website powered by Foundation