Two More File for Bend City Council Race | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon

Two More File for Bend City Council Race

This race is getting cray-zee!

Two new candidates have filed to run for Bend City Council. This race is getting cray-zee!

There are now a total of 11 candidates running for the four open positions on the council. Look at the bottom of this email for a complete update on who’s running against who.

But back to the news!

So, heavy-hitter Sally Russell is throwing down against incumbent Kathie Eckman, a longtime on-and-off member of the Bend City Council and a pretty conservative gal—she visited with Karl Rove when he swung through last week. (Read more about that in The Boot this week.) Ron “Rondo” Boozell, a well-known Bendite and supporter of the legalization of marijuana is also running against Eckman.

Russell served on the Bend Urban Area Planning Commission for eight years.

She was the executive director of the Cascade Festival of Music, a classical music festival that shut down in 2008, but for a long time was one of the popular draws for visitors to the city.

She’s served as the chair of the Tower Theatre board of directors. She’s a member of the board of directors of the progressive land-use organization 1000 Friends. She holds a master’s degree in marketing from Portland State University. She’s a fifth generation Oregonian and generally well-known woman around town.

The other new candidate to file today is Wade Fagen, another longtime Central Oregonian who owns a wood products company. Fagen has filed to run against Victor Chudowsky for the seat being vacated by Mayor Jeff Eager, who has said he will not run again.

Fagen is generally conservative, but has worked closely with environmental groups to promote sustainable forestry practices.

Candidates have until next Tuesday to file to run for council. After that, each must collect 150 valid signatures in support of their candidacy.

The election is November 6.


Position 1 – (currently held by Tom Greene)

Victor Chudowsky

Wade Fagen

Position 2
– (currently held by Jeff Eager)

Charles Baer

Edward McCoy

Edward Barbeau

Doug Knight

Position 3
– (currently held by Kathie Eckman)

Kathie Eckman

Ron (Rondo) Boozell

Sally Russell

Position 4 – (currently held by Jim Clinton)

Jim Clinton

Mike Roberts


Comments (1)

Add a comment

Add a Comment


Bend Ticket Giveaway

Newsletter Signup

Get Social

Want to Advertise With Us?

For info on print and digital advertising, >> Click Here